More Questions – Search and Site Usage Reporting

From: abdul_sami_20@hotmail.com
To: yasi_butt@hotmail.com
Subject: a few questions about SharePoint
Date: Fri, 22 Jan 2010 00:45:04 +0500

Hi,

I have a few questions regarding sharepoint if you can answer me.

1: I want to show custom scopes in search. It is showing custom scope in list on default page but click of search

it shows only default value. You can see different settings for search.

Another question regarding advanced search is that what page normally we mention for search, because for this I created a search site and mentioned its path.

Normally what we do for this?

You can see the settings in image 1A, 1B and 1C.

2: I want to see site collection usage summary and for that I have done setting mentioned in 2A, 2B. I am facing error mentioned in 2C.

3: In a task list I want to change default view to show only those task which is set for

the group of this logged in user. I added a column EmployeeDepartment mentioned in image 3A.

Now in image 3B rather then mentioning [Me] what should I mention to show the list items

based on user group rather user himself.

Thanks  in advance for any solutions. I know you can solve these.
Abdul Sami

My Response

Dear Sami,
Thanks for your email.  The possible solutions are given below.

1. It seems like your configuration for your web site is not correct as I can see that you are trying to search from SharePoint Central Administration.  SCA site used WSS Search only.  Follow the steps below to configure search.
a. Create a New Web Application on port 80.
b. Create a site collection on "Publishing -> Collaboration" Portal
c. Configure Custom Scopes from Site Collection Settings.
d. Try to Search again but make sure you have run full index from SSP Search Administration site and your new web application is inside the content source.
e. Try to search will give your results by your scope or even with all items.
2. You have set the time to run the job from 1 AM to 1 AM which is wrong.  Set it to run from 1 AM to 6 AM.  Next day you will see the report.
3. It is not possible to put the group name in the filter or value as only [ME], [TODAY] are available.
If you have more questions just let me know.

Best Regards,
Jerry

Leave a Reply

