A Critical Update to Prepare for Upgrade Test Machine

I was sitting in office while tweaking the test environments for my team for the test migration cycles.  We until now have run over 120 Test cycles for our projects.  The success ratio for the success is 1:4 which is not very good but we are still learning as our portal has over 1500 webs in one site collection :).  But any way lets not get away for the original task. 

While I was preparing the test machines for the migration one error message became my friend when I try to run the SharePoint 2003 Backup and restore.  The error message was something like this

The Database schema you wanted to restore is too old to perform this operation.  Restore Failed.

I wasted some time finding solution to that but there is nothing on the web on this.  So finally I decided to do some thing I never did before. I opened Microsoft Update site and click Custom download button.  I saw a Knowledge base update there KB924881.  I download it and believe me the DB restore worked fine.  While making a new machine for our first Dev Test.  I confirmed it by downloading the Patch and installing it (Got the same error when I run without patching it).  The link to the download is given below.

Specially update you computer with this update.

http://download.Microsoft.com/download/e/8/6/e868ccd9-00fc-420e-9918-45da49886d4a/WSS2003-KB924881-FullFile-ENU.exe

 

Tags:

17 thoughts on “A Critical Update to Prepare for Upgrade Test Machine

  1. This update solved a bunch of issues.  After installing this update I was able to do the following.  I spent over a week trying to solve this problem. Database schema you wanted to restore is too old to perform this operation.
     
    1. Backed up using, Sharepoint backup software, my production portal.  Windows 2003 SPS2, Sharepoint 2003 (WSS2 SPS2) and SQL 2000 SP4
    2. Restored the backup to my test servers.  Windows 2003 SPS2, Sharepoint 2003 (WSS2 SPS2) and SQL 2000 SP4
    3. Did another backup on my test server
    4. Restored test backup to SQL 2005
     
    Thanks a lot!!

  2. I want to say that I have had this issues for 12+ hours now and your the only one that has posted that patch.  It worked like charm, THANK YOU!!!
     
     

  3. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  4. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  5. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  6. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  7. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  8. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  9. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  10. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  11. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  12. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  13. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  14. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  15. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  16. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

  17. Hi,

    I am trying to restore a WSS site an am getting the message
    Your backup is from a different version of Windows SharePoint Services
    and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The
    backup file should be restored to a server with version
    \’1178817357.0.26133266.0\’ or later.

    Also when I run the patch you mentioned in your Blog I am getting expected version not found. Seems pretty strange – any ideas.

    Cheers Bruce

Leave a Reply

